Soundtrack for a Smile

silhouette20dancing20people

I need a bit of cheering up today so thats where this is coming from. Enjoy!

I just got an itunes giftcard this Christmas – hooray for legally purchased music that I don’t have to feel guilty about! In honor of this here come ten songs that make me smile this week…

1. Vintage Clothes – Paul McCartney

We jump up for joy
Who cares if we look like a girl or boy
What we are, is what we are and what we wear
Is vintage clothes, vintage clothes

2. I’m Yours – Jason Mraz

Well open up your mind and see like me,
open up your plans and damn you’re free,
look into your heart and you’ll find love love love love.
Listen to the music of the moment people dance and sing,
we’re just one big family
and It’s our God-forsaken right to be loved love loved love loved.

3. Shiny Happy People – REM

{The muppet version of this is adorable as well!}

Throw your love around
Love me love me
Take it into town
Happy happy
Put it in the ground
Where the flowers grow
Gold and silver shine

4. Fell Down the Stairs – Tilly and the Wall

And if I could reverse it,
I don’t think that it’d be worth it
’cause I know in my heart I would never let you tumble to the ground.

5. Ghost of Corporate Future – Regina Spektor

People are just people;
they shouldn’t make you nervous.
The world is everlasting, it’s coming and it’s going.
If you don’t toss your plastic,
the street won’t be so plastic
and if you kiss somebody then both of you’ll get practice.
The world is everlasting,
put dirtballs in your pocket,
put dirtballs in your pocket and take off both your shoes.
‘Cause people are just people,
people are just people,
people are just people like you.

6. How Lucky we Are – Meiko

One day we’ll get out of this shitty apartment,
One day is all it takes for things to turn around.

[…]

One day, we’ll turn on the T.V. and wont see nothing bout war,
and when that morning comes I’ll make coffee and you’ll read the paper
we’ll talk about our plans and I’ll keep saying how lucky we are.

7. Upside Down – Jack Johnson

Who’s to say
I can’t do everything?
Well I can try,
and as I roll along I begin to find
things aren’t always just what they seem.

I wanna turn the whole thing upside down,
I’ll find the things they say just can’t be found.
I’ll share this love I find with everyone
we’ll sing and dance to Mother Nature’s song
I don’t want this feeling to go away.

8. She Moves in Her Own Way – The Kooks

So won’t you go far
Tell me you’re a keeper
You’re all about to lie down for your cause
But you don’t pull my strings because
Cause I’m a better man
Moving on to better things

But uh oh, I love her because
She moves in her own way
But uh oh, she came to my show
Just to hear about my day

9. End of the Line – The Traveling Wilburys

Well it’s all right, riding around in the breeze
Well it’s all right, if you live the life you please
Well it’s all right, doing the best you can
Well it’s all right, as long as you lend a hand

10. Here Comes the Sun – The Beatles

Little darling, I feel that ice is slowly melting
Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been clear
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun,
and I say it’s all right.

What songs make you smile?

3 thoughts on “Soundtrack for a Smile

  1. Anything Beatles makes me smile. I’ll pick one though – “Good Day Sushine”

    Regina Spektor is sooo great to me. I loved seeing her in your list. I like everything but I will single one out for the smile list “Your Honor” by her. (“‘I’m a pizzaterian so here’s a frozen pizza pie) just a genius song. check it out on You Tube Live at Bonaroo.

    Paul McCartney – “Aarow Through Me”

    George Harrison – “Crackerbox Palace”

    John Lennon – “Isolation”

    The Beatles – “Goodbye” They wrote it for another artist (Cilla Black) but on You Tube you won’t believe Paul’s voice, it’s so good it melts ya.

    Corinne Bailey Rae – “Like A Star”

    Chuck Berry – “Ces’t La Vie”

    Tom Jones – “She’s A Lady”

    Frank Sinatra – “The Coffee Song”

    Deep Purple – “Highway Star”

  2. I’ve never heard that Spektor song, and I thought I’d pretty much heard them all so thank you! She is amazing. And the Beatles are my true musical love so… I like your taste ;)

    Thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

