Limitless Growth

Its really amazing, what each of us is capable of accomplishing as a person. So often I feel we get stuck within our comfort zones and we lose sight of exactly how much is possible.

trafficFor example, and this is a silly example, I used to think I could never drive on the highway, my reflexes were too bad, it was too crowded, too fast, too scary… not for me. Then, I went to college and suddenly the best way to get home was the highway; I quickly became comfortable driving the stretch of highway between school and home, even changing lanes so that I could speed up and pass people sometimes!

Recently I have taken on a volunteer job that requires me to drive between a half hour and forty-five minutes a few times a week, which is way more than I am used to commuting in a day, over highways that are unfamiliar, into a town that is very unfamiliar to me. It was intimidating at first, to the point where I constantly considered quitting just to avoid the commute; I was shaking in the car, my stomach was in knots, I got lost two nights in a row… until, slowly, I began to adapt and get used to the trip.

I drove there and back today without feeling anxious at all.

Whats the point in all of this? Its simple: if there is something you want to do, do it. Don’t psych yourself out with all of the reasons why its not possible, why its too hard… don’t worry about what will happen if you fail; just commit yourself to succeeding and give it a shot, whatever it is, because that saying really is true: its better to have tried and failed, then to never have tried at all.

So I’m going to try something, for the next few months… every week a few posts are going to come with a small challenge, something I am daring myself to do, and every so often I will report back the success or failure of those challenges. Feel free to participate with me; challenge yourself, challenge me with something (sunfollowers@gmail.com) lets see if we can push our limits and discover just how much growth is possible.plant-hand2

So, for today, I’d like to challenge us all to make a list of things we want to achieve. You can include career goals, relationship goals, self improvement, anything… then, try to break them down into smaller tasks. For instance, one of my goals is to make more of a positive influence on the world around me;  some smaller challenges could be to do something nice for a stranger one day and focusing on showing more gratitude to the people who go unnoticed in my life the next. Eventually these small challenges will become habits in my life, each adding onto the next to help me reach my beginning goal.

The best thing about this is that there’s no finish line, no way to fail… personal growth is a constant, never ending process that only becomes more rewarding as time passes by. So why not give it a try? There’s nothing to lose!

One thought on “Limitless Growth

  1. Pingback: Fat Acceptance Goes Mainstream « I’ll Follow the Sun

Leave a Reply

