What I’ve Been Reading…

[Sorry for the late post – I’m having computer issues, but everything should be better by the end of this week!]

It was hard not to post this first link up right away because it was just that good. The Secret Life of My Ugly Self is a post from  Eat the Damn Cake that reminds me of a more eloquent version of my Reclaiming Ugly! post, so of course I love it. Here’s a short bit of it but really, what are you waiting for? Just go read the whole post…

But back to my radical thought. For some reason, and for the first time, I believe, in my life, I didn’t either curl up in the whale or try to tell myself that I was in fact beautiful, or at least decently good looking, and I was just being ridiculous, and I needed to get over myself and be practical and stop whining. I didn’t try to un-roast, or recall the boys who have raved about my beauty. I took a completely different approach. I said to myself, “Alright. Let’s say you are ugly. Let’s just go with that for a minute. You’re ugly. You’re irredeemably unattractive. No amount of expensive shampoos or designer clothes or even surgery will improve your appearance significantly. Now what?”

This next post from Lifehacker called The Science Behind “Having a Bad Day” is really good, but it also makes me sad because I have a post just like this about bad days & self-fulfilling prophesies in my drafts queue that has been sitting half-finished for weeks now. Oh well, theirs is much more thorough!

I Remember: My Journey Through Fatness, Skinniness, and Healthiness literally made me tear up. No excerpt, because I can’t even choose a segment… just read it.

This series from the Guardian, written by a transgender woman about her experiences, is definitely worth a read. It’s awesome to see something like this being published on a mainstream site!

Finally, here are two more awesome slam poetry videos because I am going through a Def Poetry Jam phase. Have a good weekend everyone!

One thought on “What I’ve Been Reading…

  1. Great video’s and you really have my attention. This next post from Lifehacker called The Science Behind “Having a Bad Day” is really good, but it also makes me sad because I have a post just like this about bad days & self-fulfilling prophesies in my drafts queue that has been sitting half-finished for weeks now. Oh well, theirs is much more thorough! Lifehacker is the best!

Leave a Reply

